Skip to main content

Clinical Manager Sarah Barham receives Canterbury Road Trauma award

On the 28th of November, the Road Traffic and Trauma Charitable Trust hosted the annual Road Accident Remembrance Day at North Hagley Park. In conjunction with this, the Trust also announced the recipients of the 2020 Canterbury Road Trauma awards. Each community nominated recipient was presented their award by the Canterbury Road Trauma awards committee.

Our wonderful clinical manager at Laura Fergusson Brain Injury Trust; Sarah Barham, was nominated to be a recipient of this award for her contribution and dedication to the trust.

Sarah genuinely cares about each patient at LFBIT, she knows every client back to front including their pre-injury background, family situation, health and social needs. Sarah also understands immensely what it takes to enable ordinary life opportunities.

Since being employed at the Trust in 2007, Sarah was recruited to implement change positively, ensure the clinical safety for the clients we support and design carte that was centered on the clients unique and increasingly complex needs.

Sarah has developed her Registered Nursing team over the past eight years and passionately advocates on behalf of our clients. Through her trusted relationships with her clients, families and whanau, Sarah can demonstrate her long-term dedication and credibility to the Trust.

Kathryn Jones, Chief Executive Officer, Laura Fergusson Brain Injury Trust says that “Sarah exemplifies the core values of our organization in the way she cares about the people we support. She respects clients their families and whanau and strives to ensure that the environment and the clinical support they receive is of the highest quality.”

Sarah Dean, Founder of the Trust says, “These Awards have received tremendous support since its inception and it is a great honor, as Founder, to able to recognize and honor outstanding individuals who echo the Awards philosophy at this year’s forth Road Accident Remembrance Day”.

Emeritus Professor Alan Nicholson, Chair of the Canterbury Road Trauma Awards Committee says, “This year it is our pleasure to announce the deserving Award recipients who have demonstrated a duty of care, commitment and courage to the prevention of road crashes and the mitigation of the trauma caused by road crashes.”

The Laura Fergusson Brain Injury Trust would like to congratulate Sarah for her outstanding contribution for people with brain injuries and look forward to seeing her continue her success at the Trust in the future.